UFA elects four at-large board members

United Fishermen of Alaska has announced the election of Sue Aspelund, Rhonda Hubbard, Bruce Schactler and Zachary Hill as at-large board members.

They will serve two-year terms running through April 14, 2019, said Jerry McCune, UFA president. McCune is also president of Cordova District Fishermen United.

Aspelund, a veteran Bristol Bay setnetter, is a former commercial fisheries policy advisor and deputy director of commercial fisheries for the Alaska Department of Fish and Game. She was previously executive director of CDFU.

Hubbard fishes longline for halibut and sablefish and operates Kruzof Fisheries LLC, a catcher processor distribution company in Seward that markets their catch directly to consumers and restaurants through their website, www.jrfisheries.com

Hill, of Anchorage, fishes the Kodiak area salmon purse seine fishery, and has fished herring all around the state. A member of the North Pacific Fisheries Association in Homer and Seafood Harvesters of America, he also serves on the steering committee for the Alaska Young Fishermen’s Summit.

Schactler, also a veteran harvester, is the director of the Alaska Global Food Aid Program with the Alaska Seafood Marketing Institute and national director for the National Seafood Marketing Coalition.

The UFA executive committee, elected at the organization’s spring meeting in February, includes the addition of Tyson Fick, formerly with ASMI and now executive director of Alaska Bering Sea Crabbers, and Sue Doherty, of the Southeast Alaska Seiners Association.

McCune, UFA vice president Matt Alward, and secretary Chad See were each re-elected to another one-year term.

UFA, a statewide umbrella organization for the commercial fishing industry, represents 34 Alaska commercial fishing organizations.

More information about UFA is online at