Five non-profit leaders are sabbatical recipients

Executives engaged in tribal government, community radio, youth theater, special needs support group and marine research are being honored with 2019 Rasmuson Foundation Sabbatical Awards.

Each of the five winners, chosen for their long history of community service, will receive $40,000 to help cover their expenses for three to six months in the coming year to take a break from demanding jobs and rejuvenate. As a condition of the sabbatical, each recipient had to commit to returning to their job for at least a year.

Alicia Andrew, president and tribal administrator for the Karluk IRA Tribal Council, has worked for the tribal council for over 30 years.

Kay Clements, general manager of Lynn Canal Broadcasting-KHNS in Haines, helped found a community radio station in Marin County, Calif., in 1995, and has worked in community radio ever since.

Lainie Dreas, executive director of Alaska Junior Theater, has worked 22 years in performing arts organizations, including 12 years as in her present position.

Mary Middleton, executive director of Stone soup Group, which provides resources for families caring for special needs children. She has worked 25 years for nonprofits while raising her own children, including a son with autism.


Tara Riemer, president and chief executive officer of the Alaska SeaLife Center, has worked 15 years for the center, including six years in her current post.

Applications for 2020 sabbaticals are being accepted through Sept. 15, 2019. Learn more at