ALFA honored by Alaska Conservation Foundation

Nathan Ord, in a green jacket, with his sister, Annika Ord, were photographed by filmmaker Emmett Williams, producer of the upcoming documentary “We Are All Fishermen,” for the Alaska Longline Fishermen’s Association in Sitka. Photo courtesy of Emmett Williams

Alaska Longline Fishermen’s Association, a Southeast Alaska alliance of small-scale fishermen based in Sitka, has won the Alaska Conservation Foundation’s 2019 award for furthering resource conservation.

ACF announced the honor on June 11, recognizing ALFA with the Lowell Thomas Jr. Award for outstanding achievements by an organization in resource conservation. The conservation entity cited ALFA for its fact-based advocacy, unwavering commitment to conservation and willingness to work with others to identify win-win solutions.

“ALFA’s Fishery Conservation Network engages fishermen and scientists in collaborative research and marine stewardship, combining the problem-solving genius of fishermen with the rigors of science,” ACF said.

“Through durable national coalitions with commercial, sport and conservation organizations ALFA amplifies the voice of small-scale fishermen to promote resource stewardship and growing international awareness of the role community-based fishermen play in durable triple-bottom line solutions to complex challenges. ALFA is also actively engaged in preparing the next generation of young fishermen to be strong advocates for sustainable fisheries with a Young Fishermen’s Initiative, educational workshops, a deckhand apprentice program and, through a partnership with the Alaska Sustainable Fisheries Trust, an innovative loan program. ALFA has a powerful and well-respected voice in the policy arena.”

The award will be presented on Oct. 3 in ceremonies at the Anchorage Museum.

The award is named for the late Alaska legislator and lieutenant governor who was also an accomplished pilot who offered tours of Denali National Park and for his international success as a filmmaker. Thomas, who passed away in 2016, was himself awarded a lifetime achievement award in 2004 from ACF.