State issues new COVID-19 traveler advisory

State health officials are now advising all travelers returning within 14 days from any area with widespread ongoing spread of the coronavirus to stay home and avoid contact with other household members.

The Centers for Disease Control level 3 travel health notice area includes China, Iran, South Korea, Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Monaco, San Marino and Vatican City.

Travelers returning within 14 days from outside of Alaska, including the rest of the United States are urged to discuss their work situation with employers before returning to work and to minimize contact with others and self-monitor.

All Alaskans are being urged to wash hands regularly, as well as cleaning surfaces and to avoid large gatherings.

This guidance is based on CDC guidelines, online at