SEITC’s chief executive Peterman retires

Officials with the Southeast Alaska Indigenous Transboundary Commission have announced the retirement of Tis Peterman, who has served as executive director of SEITC since 2017.

Former SEITC Chair K’yuuhlgaansil Frederick Olsen Jr., who has also been with the commission from the start, will succeed Peterman at that post.

SEITC Chairman Rob Sanderson Jr. congratulated Peterman on a job well done.

As executive director of SEITC, Peterman has worked to connect tribes in Southeast Alaska with First Nations of British Columbia to protect their traditional and customary ways of life.

She has led SEITC fundraisers, organized two international indigenous leaders summits, and oversaw the signing of a memorandum of agreement with the Yukon River Inter-Tribal Watershed Council.

“She has done incredible work as our executive director and will be greatly missed,” Sanderson said.

“From her work as a representative to our group from Wrangell, Tis has played an important part in our struggle,” said Jennifer Hanlon, of the Yakutat Tlingit Tribe, SEITC vice chair.

“Tlingit & Haida Central Council acknowledges the contributions made by Ms. Peterman regarding potential impacts to our area from transboundary mining,” said Richard Peterson, CCTHITA president. “We wish her all the best in her retirement.”

Peterman, a lifelong resident of Wrangell, is of Tlingit and Tahitan descent. Her parents were the late Marcus and Mae Dailey and she is also the great granddaughter of Chief Shakes VII.

The commission represents 15 federally recognized tribes in Southeast Alaska, with a mission of protecting tribal lands and waterways for future generations.

SEITC member Tribes include Metlakatla, Saxman, Ketchikan, Wrangell, Petersburg, Klawock, Kasaan, Hydaburg, Craig, Kake, Douglas, Sitka, Yakutat, Klukwan, and Central Council Tlingit & Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska. SEITC also has a current memorandum of agreement with the United Tribes of Bristol Bay.