Law & Order: May 1-14

The following incidents were reported to the Cordova Police Department between May 1-14 Any charges reported in these press releases are merely accusations and the defendant and/or defendants are presumed innocent until proven guilty in a court of law.

Friday, May 1
3:25 p.m. Caller reported what they thought were gun shots in the directions of the grassy field.  An officer responded but was unable to find the source of the sound.

Saturday, May 2
Nothing to report.

Sunday, May 3
8:25 a.m. Caller reported a citizen breaking COVID-19 mandates.  An officer spoke with the individual reported over the phone and educated them on the current COVID-19 mandates.

Monday, May 4
Nothing to report.

Tuesday, May 5
2:51 p.m. Caller reported a driver was speeding on Chase Ave.  An officer was able to locate the vehicle and perform a traffic stop. 6:08 p.m. Caller requested an ambulance.  The ambulance responded and transported the patient to the hospital.

Wednesday, May 6
Nothing to report.

Friday, May 8
Caller reported a fire in the New Harbor. The Cordova Fire Department was paged for response, but the fire was extinguished just prior to arrival. 9:45 p.m. Caller reported someone was trying to catch their car on fire. An officer is currently investigating this report.

Saturday, May 9
11:13 a.m. CCMC requested an ambulance for a medical transport to the 13 Mile airport. An ambulance responded and provided transport.

Sunday, May 10
3:13 p.m. Caller conducted a traffic stop and arrested Joshua Fields, age 32, of Cordova, Alaska, for a warrant and driving while license revoked. 11:15 p.m. CCMC requested an ambulance for a medical transport to the 13 Mile airport. An ambulance responded and provided transport.

Monday, May 11
7:31 p.m. Caller reported they had taken a hunting rifle from an intoxicated individual who walked onto their property. An officer responded and arrested Hunter Schultz, age 25, of Cordova, Alaska, for misconduct involving a weapon.

Tuesday, May 12
Nothing to report.

Wednesday, May 13
8:45 a.m. An officer arrested Killian Long, age 25, of Cordova, Alaska, for a warrant for attempting arson.

Thursday, May 14
5:03 a.m. An officer charged Killian Long, age 25, of Cordova, Alaska, for criminal mischief after destroying property while in the Cordova Municipal Jail.

DMV hours
Tuesday-Thursday from 8 a.m.-3:30 p.m. unless otherwise posted. DMV is located at 602 Railroad Ave. Payments now accepted for dog licenses, ATV/snow machine registrations and citations.