Built in 1908, this two-story structure is distinguished by its false front and flat roof bordered by boxed cornice brackets along the eaves. This style of architecture was very common in early Cordova. Many interior structural changes have been made since it was originally built.
Original owners were J.B. Howard, who came to Alaska in 1897, and J.E. Berry, who came in 1898. And together, they operated the American Saloon there. Walter Wolf later ran a paint shop at this same location.
The 1908 structure now houses Kayak Café and has been extensively remodeled.
Adjacent to this building — on the right — was a flat-roofed building, built in later years and the first home of Carrico Plumbing and Heating. This building has been demolished.
Adjacent to this building on the left was once the Cordova Cleaners. This building still stands today.
As the City of Cordova begins preparations for the revamping of Second Street, the folks at the museum have been assisting the State Office of History and Preservation as well as the Alaska Department of Transportation in researching the historic areas of Second Street. Over the next few months, the museum will share some of the stories of those buildings we see every day and their unique history.
Much of the information for this article was gleaned from the book: From Fish and Copper Cordova’s Heritage and Buildings by Nicki Nielsen.