Responsible budget is the goal

Ten members of the incoming Alaska House of Representatives, including Rep. Louise Stutes, R-Kodiak, say the House majority coalition they seek would focus on the state budget, safety and the Alaska Permanent fund.

“As efforts to form a majority coalition in the House continue, we want fellow House members to know that we are, and will remain, united in our determination to join a coalition that is dedicated to passing a responsible budget, keeping Alaskans safe, and protecting the Permanent Fund and the Permanent Fund Dividend,” they said. “We will only participate in a coalition that is committed to these goals.”

The statement was signed by Stutes, and Representatives, Speaker of the House Bryce Edgmon, D-Dillingham; Neal Foster, D-Nome; Dan Ortiz, Jonathan-Kreiss-Tomkins, D-Sitka; Gabrielle LeDoux, R-Anchorage; John Lincoln, D-Kotzebue; Tiffany Zulkosky, D-Bethel, Sara Hannan, D- Douglas, and Representative-elect Andi Story, D-Juneau.